You are viewing this page as a guest. That means you are either a member who has not logged in, or you have not yet registered with us. Signing up for an account only takes a minute and it means you will no longer see this annoying box! It will also allow you to get involved with our friendly(ish!) community and take part in the discussions on our forums. And because we're feeling generous, if you sign up for a free account we will give you a month's free trial access to our subscriber only content with no obligation to commit. Register an account and then send a private message to @dave u and he'll hook you up with a subscription.

Those of you who are well read...

Section_31

Difficult to answer, unless someone has read almost everything. From my own experience as a literature graduate, I would say not very common in your common or garden novel, but I seem to be of the impression that a few plays turn up of that ilk.

Pourquoi?

Edited by The Flâneur
well, why?

How common is it to have a story told in the first person by a 'narrator', with internal monologues etc, but who has no impact on the actual plot itself and just observes?

"Not very", would be my answer.

The only books I can think of that possibly fit that desription would be, "Wampeter's, Foma and Grandfalloons", by Kurt Vonnegut, or perhaps "A Prayer for Owen Meany" by John Irving.

Both excellent, but debateable whether the 'narrator' has little impact upon the plot line.

"One flew over the cuckoos nest" is narrated by Chief Broom and he has little to do with the plot

Dude, it's all about the Chief!

Spoilers for those who have not read the book:

Warning! The following content is NOT WORK SAFE. Click the Show button to reveal.