You are viewing this page as a guest. That means you are either a member who has not logged in, or you have not yet registered with us. Signing up for an account only takes a minute and it means you will no longer see this annoying box! It will also allow you to get involved with our friendly(ish!) community and take part in the discussions on our forums. And because we're feeling generous, if you sign up for a free account we will give you a month's free trial access to our subscriber only content with no obligation to commit. Register an account and then send a private message to @dave u and he'll hook you up with a subscription.

Bass guitar and it´s finest exponents

Red '84

I love Matt Freeman. The self-taught punk bassist who learnt by playing along to motown, soul and dancehall reggae. Tim's great songwriter and Lars is a tight performer but Matt is the one who has made the band's sound stand out. Simple songs like Salvation and Roots Radical become so much more with his lines making the rhythm bounce.

RsgWs4sNHwM

5CUbMi7pOZ8

PTp9SMFQ3Hw

Where to start.

Tony Levin

Bernard Edwards

John giblin

Lea sklar

Mike porcaro

Abe labouriel snr

David hungate

guy pratt

Pino pallidino

Malcolm foster

Stanley Clark

Nathan east

Mark smith

Tubbs from incognito

Just some off the top of my head, but some of the best bass players and musicians that have ever walked the planet.

Norman Watt-Roy of the Blockheads deserves props for his efforts on 'Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick':

[YOUTUBE]Og-M-98pI_E[/YOUTUBE]

One of Bruce Thomas' finest moments on 'Pump It Up':

[YOUTUBE]tpprOGsLWUo&feature=related[/YOUTUBE]

Bruce Foxton - 'Precious':

[YOUTUBE]xHqWa8ih5uU[/YOUTUBE]

Norman Watt-Roy of the Blockheads deserves props for his efforts on 'Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick':