You are viewing this page as a guest. That means you are either a member who has not logged in, or you have not yet registered with us. Signing up for an account only takes a minute and it means you will no longer see this annoying box! It will also allow you to get involved with our friendly(ish!) community and take part in the discussions on our forums. And because we're feeling generous, if you sign up for a free account we will give you a month's free trial access to our subscriber only content with no obligation to commit. Register an account and then send a private message to @dave u and he'll hook you up with a subscription.

Liverpool FC and THAT Newspaper

Antynwa

As some of you may know, I work as a steward on a match day at Anfield, now you come across some weird/crazy and daft things all the time.

But I couldn't get my head around a woman, showing off the sun newspaper, donning her Liverpool top whilst walking into the ground, I had to take her aside and ask her did she know what she was doing.

I asked her 'Do you have any knowledge of why that newspaper is hated and boycotted on Merseyside and especially by Liverpool Fans?

She retorted quite angrily and said 'Why are you asking me?', I said 'because for your own safety I'm going to have to take that newspaper and bin it, because it's frowned upon here and you may be confronted by fans, who will be upset'. She was very confused, and she had no indication , I couldn't stay talking to her long because fans where asking where to sit and where the fucking Kop was, and of course the usual 'Can you take me to see Steven Gerrard?'.

I just said to her, you need to read up upon the aftermath of the H'Boro disaster and pointed to a HJC sticker on the wall, she then looked even more confused, gave me the newspaper and then went to her seat.