You are viewing this page as a guest. That means you are either a member who has not logged in, or you have not yet registered with us. Signing up for an account only takes a minute and it means you will no longer see this annoying box! It will also allow you to get involved with our friendly(ish!) community and take part in the discussions on our forums. And because we're feeling generous, if you sign up for a free account we will give you a month's free trial access to our subscriber only content with no obligation to commit. Register an account and then send a private message to @dave u and he'll hook you up with a subscription.

Featured: That was the week that was (Mar 16-22 2019)

tlw content

theweekthatwas.jpg

Saturday Mar 16:

I’ve been saying for over 12 months now how much I hate VAR and that it’s the worst thing to happen to football since oil money. I’m having seconds thoughts now. I mean, I hate the idea of it, but anything that stops City from getting all these ridiculous decisions has to be an improvement, right? 

Of course the ideal solution would be if officials just stopped handing them illegal goals and soft penalties, but clearly that’s not going to stop so it’s going to have to be VAR. That was an absolute joke today. Swansea deserved so much more from that game than what they got. I thought they were fantastic, but they got utterly screwed by that prick Marriner (who followed up his pitiful showing at Anfield last week with an even worse one here) and his linesman.

My utter contempt for anything City related is reaching unprecedented levels. It might even be eclipsing how I felt about Ferguson’s United and Mourinho’s Chelsea. I dunno, maybe I’m forgetting just how much I despised them, but this City thing is really bothering me just because of how they’re doing it. I know Chelsea did it too, but it wasn’t against the rules back then. Unpalatable, yes, illegal, no.