Quantcast
Ancelotti: Van Dijk should have seen red - Latest News - The Liverpool Way Jump to content


tlw content
tlw content
Sign in to follow this  

Ancelotti: Van Dijk should have seen red

Napoli manager Carlo Ancelotti believes Virgil Van Dijk should have received a red card for his challenge on Belgian forward Dries Mertens early in the first half of the crucial Group C Champions League clash at Anfield on Wednesday evening.

A Mo Salah goal was all that separated the teams in a night of high drama where only a win was acceptable for the Reds to progress, whereas a draw would have been good enough to see the Italians through.

The veteran manager believes the towering Dutchman should have received his marching orders when he caught Mertens on the follow through after initially making a clean ball winning tackle.

 

vandijk1_600.jpg


Four Four Two reported Ancelotti as saying:

"I've seen it on the video, I think it was a red card. There were a lot of questions about VAR.  When VAR comes in to the Champions League, it's too late."

Van Dijk did receive a booking for the challenge which will see him miss the first leg of the Round of 16 clash in February.

The 1-0 defeat was Napoli's only loss of the group stage and will see the Italians consigned to the Europa League. 

It was clear that Liverpool played right into their hands when the two teams met on Matchday Two, and Jurgen Klopp was determined that his men upped their tempo for this vital encounter.

It was something that the wily manager was prepared for.

"We knew that Liverpool would put us under a lot more pressure, they were very aggressive.

"It was something we planned for, we knew the intensity was going to be a lot different from the first game we played. That was something we had to try and cope with.

"You can't expect to come to a place like Liverpool and expect to create 10 really good chances, we created one or two and didn't have the luck that we needed."

Alisson was the hero for the Reds in the final stages when he made a point blank save at the feet of Napoli striker Arkadiusz Milik who would have thought the vital goal was there for the taking.

However the save was just another magical moment in Liverpool's illustrious European history.

While Ancelotti and his players will take time to get offer this disappointment, they will be formidable opponents for any team in the Europa League.


Sign in to follow this  


User Feedback

Recommended Comments



Nope. Didn't think it was a foul never mind a booking. It was certainly not a red card. Van Dijk won the ball cleanly and fairly, and it was unfortunate for Mertens that his foot was planted in the follow-through.

  • Upvote 2

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites

What's the rule about winning the ball and catching someone with your studs on the follow through.

 

VVD's boot was trailing along the ground... is that different from being in the air?

 

I don't think it was a red, but I don't think Ancelotti's contention is totally outrageous... 

 

Or perhaps I'm just being lenient on him because I don't think he's a cunt.

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites
On 12/12/2018 at 10:10 AM, Skaro said:

What's the rule about winning the ball and catching someone with your studs on the follow through.

 

VVD's boot was trailing along the ground... is that different from being in the air?

 

I don't think it was a red, but I don't think Ancelotti's contention is totally outrageous... 

 

Or perhaps I'm just being lenient on him because I don't think he's a cunt.

If you win the ball cleanly but catch the player on the follow through it can,and often is,be interpreted as a foul. On second,third,fourth views I have to accept that the awful referee was actually correct on this occasion.

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, VladimirIlyich said:

If you win the ball cleanly but catch the player on the follow through it can,and often is,be interpreted as a foul. On second,third,fourth views I have to accept that the awful referee was actually correct on this occasion.

Well the fourth official probably was.  

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites
36 minutes ago, VladimirIlyich said:

If you win the ball cleanly but catch the player on the follow through it can,and often is,be interpreted as a foul. On second,third,fourth views I have to accept that the awful referee was actually correct on this occasion.

I could agree with this if the ref had reacted to the incident immediately instead of appearing to see it ( his view was brilliant) and then carrying on for a few seconds then reacting to either Mertens scream or something the lino has told him .

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites
On 12/12/2018 at 10:10 AM, Skaro said:

What's the rule about winning the ball and catching someone with your studs on the follow through.

 

VVD's boot was trailing along the ground... is that different from being in the air?

 

I don't think it was a red, but I don't think Ancelotti's contention is totally outrageous... 

 

Or perhaps I'm just being lenient on him because I don't think he's a cunt.

The rule is....there is no rule. The VVD situation is governed by a set of highly subjective words, open to wide degrees of interpretation..... 

'A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following
offences against an opponent in a manner considered by the referee to be
careless, reckless or using excessive force:
• charges
• jumps at
• kicks or attempts to kick
• pushes
• strikes or attempts to strike (including head-butt)
• tackles or challenges
• trips or attempts to trip
If an offence involves contact it is penalised by a direct free kick or
penalty kick.
• Careless is when a player shows a lack of attention or consideration when
making a challenge or acts without precaution. No disciplinary sanction
is needed
• Reckless is when a player acts with disregard to the danger to,
or consequences for, an opponent and must be cautioned
• Using excessive force is when a player exceeds the necessary use of force
and/or endangers the safety of an opponent and must be sent off'

 

It boils down to whether that tackle is seen as 'reckless' or 'excessive force'. Not very long ago, it would have been seen as a textbook tackle. Nowadays, it changes from ref to ref, what day of the week it is, who committed the foul (was it Fernandinho. for example), or even the same ref in the same match.

 

I just saw Valencia's yellow card last night - much worse than VVD's, as he gets nowhere near the ball - nobody's mentioned it in the media that I can see.

 

Bottom line, Carlo - boo hoo, enjoy your Thursdays.

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yea that Dan cunt or whoever made the image he's posted has taken that completely out of context. That happened on the follow through as he's got the ball already which is why for me it's not even a foul, let alone a card of any sort. Yea it ends up unfortunate but there is nothing reckless or intentional about him hitting the player, the ball move out of the way and his momentum is just carrying him forward.

 

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hes gone straight through the ball and ended up with his studs squarely into the fellas planted foot.

Of course it's a foul and a yellow. 

That is ok - set the tone for the game and he managed it well

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites



Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×