A look at all the trophies Liverpool and Manchester United have won - Misc Articles - Articles - Articles - Home

Jump to content

FREE TRIAL SUBSCRIPTION with every new registration!

Register on the forums today and receive one month's FREE access to all subscriber only content, including match reports, the TLW Diary and Premier League Round Ups. Registration costs nothing and there is no obligation to continue with your subscription once the free month trial has expired. 


To register a FREE account with us, click here, and then be sure to check the box for 'the FREE Monty' to receive immediate access to the subscriber only content and exclusive Members Forum.

Support the site

Follow TLW

TLW Facebook TLW Instagram TLW Podcast TLW Youtube TLW RSS


Snack Media

TLW T-Shirts

Uncle Sam Sports

Sponsored Links

- - - - -

A look at all the trophies Liverpool and Manchester United have won

Two of the biggest and most historic football clubs in the world, both Manchester United and Liverpool have spent significant periods of time dominating the English game.


Liverpool spent much of the 1970s and 80s dominating the English top division while Manchester United spent the 90s and 2000s being the dominant force in English football.

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp and United manager Jose Mourinho will be looking to become the men to lead their respective clubs in becoming the next dominant force in English football ahead of their fixture on the 14th October. Manchester United are currently in 2nd place in the league, behind rivals Manchester City on goal difference and will be looking to continue the momentum in their title challenge.


With United’s growing list of injuries, including Paul Pogba, it might be worth having a bet on Liverpool when United travel to 7th placed Liverpool for the lunch time kick-off at Anfield.


For 19 years Liverpool held the record for the most top division titles in England with 18, however Manchester United won their 18th title in the 2008/09 season, meaning Liverpool no longer had sole ownership of the record. That record would then be broken two seasons later as United went on to win the Premier League for the 12th time and the top division for a record 19th time.


The current record stands at 20 following United’s triumph in the 2012/13 Premier League season in which Sir Alex Ferguson led the Red Devils to their final league title to date, in what would be Ferguson’s final season in management. Liverpool has thus far failed to win the Premier League, with their last title win being back in the 1989/90 season, two seasons before the Premier League was formed.


It might have taken 19 years for Manchester United to end Liverpool’s bragging rights over domestic titles but the Merseyside club can still claim bragging rights regarding European titles. Liverpool have managed to win the European Cup 5 times compared to United’s 3 and have won the UEFA Cup 3 times, most recently in the 2000/01 season, whereas United have managed to win it just the once, in the 2016/17 season in its current format, the Europa League.


Following on from the eight European victories Liverpool managed to achieve, 3 of these resulted in the club winning the European Super Cup. The Red Devils on the other hand managed to win the competition only once in four attempts, with the club beating European Cup winners Red Star Belgrade in 1991 following their Cup Winner’s Cup triumph the previous season.


The FA Cup has been won twelve times by Manchester United, five of which were won during Sir Alex Ferguson’s reign as manager. Liverpool have won the trophy seven times, the most recent being in the 2005/06 season under Rafa Benitez. The last time United won it was in the 2015/16 season under Mourinho’s predecessor Louis van Gaal.


The League Cup is the only domestic trophy that Liverpool have managed to win on more occasions than United, having triumphed in the competition eight times compared to United’s five. Current United manager Jose Mourinho led the Red Devils to glory in the competition last season, while Liverpool last saw success in this competition back in 2012 under former player and manager, club legend Kenny Dalglish.


The Community Shield is a competition played by the winner of the FA Cup and the winner of the Premier League. Liverpool and Manchester United have played each other five times, United winning in 1983 and Liverpool winning the most recent meeting in 2001. On three occasions in 1965, 1977 and 1990 the two teams shared the trophy after playing out a draw in each of the three matches. United have won the competition 17 times outright, with 4 times being shared and Liverpool have won it 10 times outright and have shared it 5 times.


The FIFA Club World Cup was won by Manchester United in 2008, in a 1-0 win over Ecuadorian club LDU Quito. Liverpool’s only appearance ended in them losing the final 1-0 against Sao Paulo of Brazil.


Klopp joined Liverpool in October 2015, but he has yet to win a trophy with the club and with United being led by serial trophy winner Jose Mourinho, the Reds will face a tough challenge when they host the Red Devils on the 14th October.

  • 0